February 28, 2019

AFSCME members re-elected to SERS Board of Trustees

Congratulations to AFSCME Local 805 President David Morris, Local 2081 President Stephen Mittons and Local 1805 member Jeremy “Tad” Hawk—all of whom have been declared re-elected to the State Employees’ Retiree System of Illinois (SERS) Board of Trustees on February 21 as no one filed to run in opposition to them.

The SERS Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the operation of the pension system that provides benefits to over 140,000 active and retired state employees.

The board consists of thirteen members: the Illinois Comptroller, six trustees appointed by the Governor, four active trustees elected by SERS members, and two trustees elected by SERS retirees.

Melissa Garman, an AFSCME retiree, is running for the open annuitant seat on the board. There is another candidate vying for the seat, so there will be an election. Ballots will be mailed to SERS retirees on May 1 and are due back to SERS by May 30.

Related News