March 01, 2021

AFSCME’s Jack Matthews joins SERS Board of Trustees

AFSCME Local 1964 President Jack Matthews will join the State Employees Retirement System (SERS) Board of Trustees after being the only candidate who submitted sufficient signatures for election.  

Matthews—whose local primarily represents central Illinois employees in the Department of Corrections and the Illinois State Police—joins Stephen Mittons, AFSCME Local 2081, David Morris, AFSCME Local 805, and Tad Hawk, AFSCME Local 1805, on the board. 

Shaun Dawson, president of AFSCME Local 2073 at Logan Correctional Center, is stepping down from the Board in July after four years of steadfast advocacy on behalf state employees. We thank him for his service. 

Public employee pension benefits have been under attack for years and it’s more important than ever for union members to have a voice on the SERS board. Of the 13 members of the board, four are elected by participants in the fund. Two are elected by annuitants. AFSCME has worked hard to ensure that both active and retired trustees are individuals firmly committed to protecting the integrity of pension benefits. 

Related News