December 19, 2016

Illinois labor movement supports state employees

Following is a letter to AFSCME-represented state employees from nearly two dozen Illinois union leaders in the public and private sectors.

A Message for the Members of AFSCME Council 31:

We know that state employees like you face an unprecedented assault from a governor who seeks to strip you of your rights and drive down your income. Bruce Rauner has consistently tried to paint you in the worst possible light—overpaid and underworked—while at the same time trying to weaken your union, drastically increase your health care costs, and freeze your wages for four years.

We want you to know that we value the work you do every day—much of it difficult and demanding. We know how often you go the extra mile to serve the people of this state.

We also want you to know that we stand with you now as Governor Rauner tries to impose his extreme and unfair terms on you. You are surely on the front lines of a battle of critical importance to every working person in our state.

There’s no doubt that Rauner seeks conflict and confrontation while you have consistently urged reasoned negotiations and expressed your willingness to compromise to find common ground.

Whatever course you choose to take to defend your rights, your family’s well-being, and the vital services you provide, we hope that you will draw strength from the knowledge that you are not alone. Your fight is our fight and you can count on our support in the difficult days ahead.

In unity,

Michael Carrigan
Illinois AFL-CIO
Jorge Ramirez
Chicago Federation of Labor
Tom Balanoff
SEIU Local 1
Robert Boskovich
Iron Workers District
Council of Chicago and Vicinity
Kenneth R. Boyd
United Food &
Commercial Workers
Local 1546
Pat Devaney
Associated Fire Fighters of Illinois
Donald Finn
Business Manager
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Local 134
Brian Hickey
International Union of Operating Engineers
Local 399
Ron Honse
Staff Representatives
Communications Workers of America
District 4
Alice Johnson
Executive Director
Illinois Nurses Association
Mack Julion
National Association of Letter Carriers Branch 11
Keith Kelleher
SEIU Healthcare Illinois/Indiana
Karen Kent
Cinda Klickna
Illinois Education
Karen GJ Lewis, NBCT
Chicago Teachers Union
Frank Libby
Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters
Ronald D. McInroy
United Auto Workers Region 4
Dan Montgomery
Illinois Federation of Teachers             
William Niesman
Business Manager
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 9
Ronald Powell
United Food & Commercial Workers Local 881

Jesse Rios
President Emeritus
American Federation of Government Employees Council 73

Rocco Terranova
Sheet Metal Workers Local 73
David Wickster
Executive Director
Illinois Fraternal Order of Police Labor Council

Related News